LDC Fellowships are annually selected research or study awards up to $45,000 for senior leaders. They aim to help senior leaders build on their personal leadership development goals and reflect topic areas that are highly relevant to their agency and the system, and make performance improvements to the public sector. The Fellowship may include formal and/or practical experience, and/or research and study on leadership or management development, in New Zealand or overseas.

Each Fellowship provides up to $45,000 for travel, accommodation and/or study fees. The Fellowship is sponsored by contributing public sector agencies.

Find out more in the Fellowship flyer (pdf).

Details about the 2018 Fellowships will be available on the website soon.

LDC 2017 Fellowships winners

We’re pleased to announce the 2017 LDC Fellowships:

Kellie O'Sullivan, General Manager, People and Performance, Ministry of Justice - exploring the future of HR and large-scale transformational culture change.

Murray Young, Chief Information Officer, New Zealand Customs Service and Tracy Voice, Director, Business Technology and Information Services (CIO), Ministry for Primary Industries - jointly undertaking a joint study programme, looking at the use of emerging technologies to improve government interaction with citizens, focusing first on border control.

Blair McKenzie, Auckland Regional Commissioner, Ministry of Social Development - utilising education and experiential learning opportunities to understand existing best practice for leading diverse ethnic groups in a New Zealand context.

Read more about the new LDC Fellows and their study programmes.

2016 LDC Fellow - Jayne Russell

Jayne Russell

Jayne Russell, General Manager, Employer Services, Ministry of Social Development, is the 2016 LDC Fellow. Jayne investigated businesses' corporate social responsibility (CSR) approaches. Maximising employment opportunities for clients was a priority objective. Jane applied her Fellowship learning to how relevant government agencies can better take a whole-of-government approach to working with the private sector in their provision of employment. Jayne's proposals was submitted under the 'Better Public Services' theme and she is looking at Leadership that builds sustainability, resilience and connections.

2015 LDC Fellows

 LDC 2015 Fellows: Lis Cowey, Evelyn Wareham, Tania Warburton, Sally Washington

LDC 2015 Fellows: Lis Cowey, Evelyn Wareham, Tania Warburton, Sally Washington

  • Joint winners: Lis Cowey, Programme Director, Service Support and Design, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment and Sally Washington, Programme Manager, The Policy Project, Improving the quality and performance of policy advice, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Read Lis's and Sally's blog.  
  • Evelyn Wareham, General Manager, Customer Insights, Analytics and Research, Statistics New Zealand. Read Evelyn's blog.
  • Tania Warburton, Deputy Chief Legal Counsel, Ministry of Justice. Read Tania's blog.

Other past fellows

Check out their blogs, which include first-hand insights and learning.

Carolyn Risk, Ministry of Social Development

Read Carolyn's blog.



Robert Brodnax, New Zealand Transport Agency "The LDC Fellowship was the best learning opportunity I have ever had – the chance to mix targeted training with self-directed international research in a specific topic of interest to myself and the sector is simply gold."

Read Robert's blog


Bryan ChappleBryan Chapple, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment "The Fellowship gave me a period of time to reflect on my leadership and on the economic challenges and opportunities for New Zealand – with some great input from leadership courses and a wonderful economics library to feed that thinking."



Janine DowdingJanine Dowding, Ministry of Social Development “The fellowship gave me the opportunity to learn alongside public and private sector leaders from around the world. I was taken way out of my comfort zone but the rewards in terms of personal growth were worth it.”

Read Janine's blog


David Habersoh and Craig SouterDavid Habershon, Ministry for Social Development and Craig Soutar, NZ Transport Agency  "…the best leadership development opportunity I have had … the most educational, enlightening and enriching development experience."

Read David and Craig's blog


Karl Le QuesneKarl Le Quesne, Ministry of Education

Read Karl's blog

The LDC Fellowships are sponsored by contributing public sector agencies.

2016/17 Fellowship sponsoring agencies:

  • Accident Compensation Corporation
  • Antarctica New Zealand
  • Careers New Zealand
  • Civil Aviation Authority of New Zealand
  • Commerce Commission New Zealand
  • Creative New Zealand
  • Crown Law Office
  • Department of Conservation
  • Department of Corrections
  • Department of Internal Affairs
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Education Review Office
  • Electoral Commission New  Zealand
  • Environmental Protection Authority
  • Health Quality and Safety Commission New Zealand
  • Housing New Zealand
  • Inland Revenue
  • Land Information New Zealand
  • Ministry for Culture and Heritage
  • Ministry for the Environment
  • Ministry for Pacific Peoples
  • Ministry for Primary Industries
  • Ministry for Women
  • Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
  • Ministry of Defence
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ministry of Foreign and Affairs and Trade
  • Ministry of Health
  • Ministry of Justice
  • Ministry of Social Development
  • Ministry of Transport
  • New Zealand Customs Service
  • New Zealand Fire Service
  • New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
  • New Zealand Transport Agency
  • New Zealand Walking Access Commission
  • Office of the Controller and Auditor-General
  • Parliamentary Counsel Office
  • PHARMAC - Pharmaceutical Management Agency
  • Real Estate Agents Authority
  • Serious Fraud Office
  • Social Policy Evaluation and Research  Unit
  • State Services Commission
  • Statistics New Zealand
  • Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu – The Correspondence School
  • Te Puni Kōkiri − Ministry of Māori Development
  • Tertiary Education Commission
  • The Treasury